The silver spoon on my bookshelf

WP_001905I had time today to make a recipe from my newest cookbook (and my favourite christmas present this year!) ‘The Silver Spoon’. This book is THE bible of authentic Italian cookery – the blurb describes it as ‘Italy’s best-selling cookbook for over fifty years’. I expect it will be a staple feature of my kitchen from now until forever.

To begin, I looked up the basic pasta recipe because I had never made it from scratch before. My first attempt was not kneaded enough and so it was a bit chewy but I timed the kneading of the second batch (10 minutes) and this time it felt way better, more pliable and easier to roll out.

I was intending to just make tagliatelle and have it with a basic tomato sauce but as I was flicking through the adjacent pages I found a recipe for Pumpkin Tortelli. This caught my eye because I have lots of shredded pumpkin in my freezer since October and I have been looking for ways to use it up (ways that are NOT pumpkin pie!…so tired of pumpkin pie *lol*). Right next to my frozen pumpkin I keep bags of frozen breadcrumbs which this recipe called for too. Perfect!

So, off I went, happily making pumpkin filling, rolling out the pasta, filling & sealing the tortelli and creating my first ever Italian homemade pasta meal from scratch. The sage butter is such a simple and delicious sauce. I think I’m slowly coming around to the beauty of cooking with less, but perfectly matched, ingredients. The tortelli I ate were made using the first batch of pasta but I used the second batch to make more which I have in my freezer until my boys come home from Granny’s house this Sunday. They’re not great veggie-eaters but I think this one might be a winner. I can only wait & see!

I think a pasta roller is on my list of coveted items for my kitchen now. What fun it will be to make fresh pasta with my boys!

I am tempted to task myself with only cooking recipes from this book in 2015. I hesitate only because I don’t want to set resolutions this year. I am hopeless at sticking to them and so, to avoid falure, I am taking time this weekend to just think about what I enjoy and how I would like to progress in 2015 and beyond. Here’s to exploring food! 2000 recipes – 2 down (Fresh Pasta Dough (Basic Recipe) and Pumpkin Tortelli),  just 1998 to go!WP_001911

This entry was published on January 2, 2015 at 7:41 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

