Raw #6

Yesterday was a relatively successful day of raw eating. First things first though, I’ll confess my slip-ups: I had a cup of coffee and a flapjack at toddler morning…BUT…I had the coffee black and the flapjack was vegan. That’s not too bad, right? The other major struggle I had was at dinnertime with my kids. I put myself right in the line of temptation and I have nobody to blame but number one. I know that the boys love spaghetti & meatballs and I love my boys so I treated them to their favourite. What Mam wouldn’t? The problem is that it’s one of my favourites too! What was I thinking?! Of course, as I was cooking I had to taste the sauce, check the pasta was done, sample a meatball. Wow, was it a struggle not to just dish up a lovely steamy, saucy bowl of those balls of deliciousness and enjoy it as much as I know I would’ve!! But I didn’t!! I ate a couple of small meatballs & some spaghetti & sauce from my toddler’s plate but I resisted going all out. That must be considered a 50/50 failure/success rate?

I wouldn’t have been able to resist the temptation at dinnertime had I not made a huge bowl of salsa for lunch (main pic). I didn’t have to prepare another meal for myself, I just filled up another bowl of that and I put all of the leftover meatballs in a lunchbox out of my sight. I also mentally promised that if I can do well with raw-veganism and resist temptations for the rest of January then I will research a great vegan spaghetti & meatballs recipe and make it as a treat on Feb 1st.

A quick round-up of my other meals is as follows: fruit with milled linseed & gojiberries for brekkie; salsa for lunch & dinner and a really tasty smoothie after my workout (banana, coconut milk, milled linseed, peaches and frozen summer berries). Oh, and lots of nuts & dried fruit as snacks.

 

For the salsa I chopped into a large bowl: half a red pepper, half a yellow pepper, a whole green pepper (I will put much less of this in next time because it was bitter & overpowered the other flavours a bit), half a red onion, 2 good handfuls of baby spinach, 5 fresh tomatoes, 2 spring onions, a small bunch of coriander, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt & pepper, half a cucumber, 4 sticks of celery and half of a fresh pineapple. I made a dressing by blending 2 fresh tomatoes, half a green chilli, some mint sauce, 2 small cloves of garlic, a dash of water, the juice of half a lime,  2 spring onions, a bunch of coriander and 2 sundried tomatoes. Mix the dressing into the bowl of salad and munch away contentedly. I’m having the last of it as today’s lunch and because it has sat in the fridge for 24 hours now, the flavours have melded together & become more intense and all of the juices have mixed which make it even more delicious than yesterday. This would be a fantastic make-ahead dish for a family gathering or a party.

This entry was published on January 13, 2012 at 1:08 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

