Kale Smoothie

I’ve spoken about my usual lunch which is a Kale Smoothie and I will no doubt speak of it again so here’s how to make it:

Simply blend the following:

3 cups of water or apple juice if you want a sweeter result. You can also use both.

A half to 1 whole cucumber. I usually use more but I just had a half left today.

3 apples – skin on

4 sticks of celery

Half of a bunch of kale… I suppose it’s about 3-4 cups finely chopped

A nice chunk of fresh root ginger.

This makes two servings of approx 700mls each.

My blender died last week so for now I’m using a basic hand-blender and a jug. I add the liquid first, then blend the fruit and finally the celery and kale. So long as I have chopped the veg beforehand I have no problem getting it to the right consistency but I’m looking forward to shopping for a new machine soon.

I hope you try this recipe out. Please let me know your reactions and I’m always open to suggestions and tweaks. Enjoy!

This entry was published on January 9, 2012 at 2:35 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

