Raw #001

Water, Kale, Apple, Mandarin Orange, GingerIt’s a new year and I feel obliged to re-commit myself to everything. So expect to see a lot of these type of posts over the next couple of weeks!

Raw food is first up.

My raw food journey began in October last year. So far it’s been an almost daily but not exclusive part of my diet. This means I’ve been trying it out but I’ve not yet committed fully to giving up meat, dairy, wheat & all cooked food. I don’t ever see myself eating just raw food but I’m beginning to enjoy eating meat less than before and I don’t really miss milk & yogurt (cheese is another matter entirely!). One of the most difficult parts of raw-food-ism for me is the lack of crunch. I know apples & carrots etc are crunchy but I’m talking about that toasty, wheaty, crackery, crispy kind of crunch. So, my worst enemy food wise has to be cheese & crackers. If I can ‘crack’ that craving (*groan*) then I’ll be doing well.

I’m not going to set any goals right now. I’m just going to continue my journey incorporating a healthier diet and hopefully I’ll be rewarded with a more energised and alert mind and body.

Today I had a kale, celery, ginger, apple, cucumber smoothie for lunch and I am now enjoying the smoothie pictured above for my dinner. I had a bowl of spaghetti with pesto fresh basil & sundried tomatoes in-between (is there a name for that?….brunch is between b-fast & lunch, what’s between lunch & dinner?? Dunch? no,  Linner? idk…). I had a banana for brekkie along with a fruit scone with butter & jam and a cup of coffee. Not a great start, I know, but it’s good that I know that…right?

For those of you interested in being healthy, active & all-round better people you won’t go far wrong if you follow these guys on youtube as I do…

http://www.youtube.com/user/RAWRawn : My go-to guy for motivation, rawfood recipes & smiles. Rawn is real, he’s on a “quest for a healthy body, healthy mind & a healthy life” (aren’t we all!) and he’s fun! Check him out, you won’t regret it 🙂

http://www.youtube.com/user/ShayLoss : Shay is youtube royalty (Shaytards). If he was a superhero his powers would be motivation & drive! This guy has gone from over 280lbs  to 170lbs in under a year! Yeah..I know!!! Amazing! It’s worth heading back in time to his vlog back in June when he and Rawn along with a few friends decided that they’d had enough and it was time to get in shape for good. Follow along to the present-time and I dare you not to be motivated to change your life! Do it…. now!

On a side note, I’m not overweight. I am 5ft6in and 62.5kg…I could trim down another bit but I’m not too bothered by weight. I just want to become a better, healthier version of myself. Feel free to follow along as I stumble towards my better self & blog about it.

This entry was published on January 5, 2012 at 7:08 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

